Year Zero
Year Zero with Wesley Yang
"I was able to get a second letter. And that was all the surgeon required in order to agree to remove my testicles and perform a penectomy and a vaginoplasty on an 18 year old."
Preview
0:00
-3:25

"I was able to get a second letter. And that was all the surgeon required in order to agree to remove my testicles and perform a penectomy and a vaginoplasty on an 18 year old."

Corinna Cohn on Transitioning at 18 After Being Groomed Into Transgender Identity on Internet Chat Rooms In The Early 1990's.

Today's bonus podcast for paid subscribers is the first 40 minutes of my marathon  conversation with Corinna Cohn. Toward the end of that podcast, I referred to the beginning of our conversation as "tense." I don't mean that we were in any way hostile, just that it took a little while for us to fully establish our rapport and for the conversation to bec…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Year Zero to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Year Zero
Year Zero with Wesley Yang
An ongoing inquiry into the ideological fever that overtook the governing and chattering classes of America during the Trump years